

Prepare. Connect. Lead.

Digital Commons @ University of Georgia School of Law

Other Law School Publications

Digital Archives

4-1-2008

Awards Day 2008

Office of Registrar University of Georgia School of Law

Repository Citation

Registrar, Office of, "Awards Day 2008" (2008). *Other Law School Publications*. 18. https://digitalcommons.law.uga.edu/lectures_pre_arch_archives_other/18

This Article is brought to you for free and open access by the Digital Archives at Digital Commons @ University of Georgia School of Law. It has been accepted for inclusion in Other Law School Publications by an authorized administrator of Digital Commons @ University of Georgia School of Law. Please share how you have benefited from this access For more information, please contact tstriepe@uga.edu.



Student Resources

2008 Student and Faculty Award Winners

The Center for Computer-Assisted Legal Instruction (CALI) Excellence for the Future Awards
The CALI Excellence for the Future Awards® program recognizes excellent achievement by law students in their studies. The award is given to the student with the highest grade in the class.

Criminal Law

Ann R. Carroll, Elizabeth A. Freeman, Rachel K. Jones, and Sara L. Lonergan

Civil Procedure

Daniel L. Delnero, Jason W. Howard, Brian C. Lea, and Benn C. Wilson

Contracts & Sales

John T. DeGenova, Brian C. Lea, Jason D. McCoy, and Benn C. Wilson

Legal Research & Writing

Bennett D. Bryan, John T. DeGenova, Matthew A. Josephson, James W. McPhillips, Keisha M. Oldacre, Weston B. Rochester, and Alice E. Snedeker

Property

Michael B. Davis, Dennis M. Madison, Manoj S. Varghese, and Benn C. Wilson

Torts and Class of 1933 Torts Law Award

Laura E. Ingram, Brian C. Lea, Kenneth W. Stroud, and Benn C. Wilson

Constitutional Law I

Lori E. Morris, Christian C. Morrison, Samuel T. Myers, and Benn C. Wilson

Constitutional Law II

Farrar J. Barker and Anuj Desai

Corporations

Catherine E. Coleman, Scott R. Grubman and Brian C. Lea

Criminal Procedure I

Jessica C. Nix and Anna E. Papa

Criminal Procedure II

Kelly S. Culpepper, Scott R. Grubman, and Brittany L. Summers

Evidence

Alphonso A. Howell, William P. Martin, Thomas Chase Samples, and Benn C. Wilson

Federal Income Taxation

Lindsey C. Perry and Wade A. Schueneman

Legal Profession

Eric B. Coleman and Anuj Desai

Trusts & Estates and Verner F. Chaffin Award for Excellence in the Study of Fiduciary Law Farrar J. Barker and Brian C. Lea

Donald P. Gilmore, Jr. Memorial Award for Excellence in the Study of Labor & Employment Law Marcia S. Alembik

American Bar Association and Bureau of National Affairs Award for Excellence in the Study of Employment Law

Janna Blasingame Custer

American Bar Association & Bureau of National Affairs Award for Excellence in the Study of Labor Law

Caroline M. Knox

American Bar Association & Bureau of National Affairs Award for Excellence in the Study of Intellectual Property

T. Rick Irvin, Ph.D. and Blake A. Tankersley

Attorneys' Title Guaranty Fund Award for Excellence in the Study of Real Estate Law Efrain "Sonny" A. Poloche

State Bar of Georgia Real Property Section Award

Sally Smith Jarratt

Julian McDonnell Award for Excellence in the Study of Commercial Law Jennifer A. Aldrich

Georgia Municipal Association Municipal Corporations Award Joseph I. Bolling

John C. O'Byrne Award for Excellence in the Study of Taxation
William T. Thistle

State Bar of Georgia Tax Section Outstanding Student Award Kellee A. Padgett

Georgia Association for Women Lawyers Outstanding Student Award
Lauren Clipp Giles

National Association of Women Lawyers Outstanding Student Award
Carla Riner

Outstanding Prosecutorial Clinic Student

Sonya Elizabeth Grounds

Outstanding Land Use Clinic Student

Janna Blasingame Custer and Matthew M. Weiss

Outstanding Legal Defense Clinic Student

Nandi F. Campbell

American Bankruptcy Institute Medal

Kelly S. Culpepper and Robert H. Snyder

Willis J. "Dick" Richardson, Jr. Student Award for Outstanding Trial Advocacy Lindsay A. Winzeler

Weinberg, Wheeler, Hudgins, Gunn & Dial, LLP Award for Outstanding Mock Trial Advocate Kevin E. Epps

Weinberg, Wheeler, Hudgins, Gunn & Dial, LLP Award for Outstanding Moot Court Advocate
Tully T Blalock

Kerry Harike Joedeke Memorial Award for Excellence Outstanding Moot Court Board Member Rebecca M. Thornhill

Ronald Carlson Award for Excellence in the Study of Evidence

Thomas Chase Samples

National Order of Barristers

The Order of Barristers is a national honorary organization whose purpose is the encouragement of oral advocacy and brief writing skills through effective law school oral advocacy programs. The Order seeks to improve these programs through interscholastic sharing of ideas, information and resources. The Order also provides national recognition for individuals who have excelled in advocacy and service at their respective schools for successful participation in regional, national and international interscholastic advocacy competitions.

Jennifer T. Blakely
James "Jeb" E. Butler
Scott R. Grubman
Cameron D. Hawkins
Leslie B. Horne
Naveen Ramachandrappa
Thomas Chase Samples
Emily E. Shingler
Rebecca M. Thornhill
Alexandra H. Yeager

Shelley B. Knox Award for Outstanding Public Interest Student

Nandi F. Campbell and Sara R. Dykes

Law School Alumni Association Award for Greatest Improvement in Academic Standing

1st to 2nd Year - Nandi F. Campbell 2nd to 3rd Year - Regina F. Price

Law School Alumni Association Award for Highest Academic Average

Class of 2008 - Lindsey C. Perry Class of 2009 - Benn C. Wilson

William King Meadow Award

Tully T Blalock

Ellen Jordan Award for Outstanding Public Interest Student

Nandi F. Campbell

Jesse and Dan MacDougald Memorial Award for First Honor Graduate and Isaac Meinhard Award for Highest Academic Average

Merritt Ellen McAlister

2008 FACULTY AWARDS

John C. O'Byrne Memorial Award for Furthering Faculty-Student Relations Professor Jason M. Solomon

Student Bar Association Professionalism Award

Professor Lonnie T. Brown, Jr.

C. Ronald Ellington Award for Excellence in Teaching

Professor Dan T. Coenen

INDUCTION CEREMONY OF THE CLASS OF 2007

The Order of the Coif is an honorary scholastic society, the purpose of which is to encourage excellence in legal education by fostering a spirit of careful study, recognizing those who as law students excelled in their studies and honoring those who as lawyers, judges and teachers attained high distinction for their scholarly or professional accomplishments.

Elizabeth Claire Arnett Patricia J. Brooks Ellen Claire Carothers Janna Blasingame Custer Anuj Desai David S. Frist Patrick Hammond Garrard Jeffrey Howard Gibson Bret Reed Hobson Tedra Cannella Hobson Andrea Michelle Hoffenson Matthew T. Joe Jessica C. Lawrence Haywood Scott Lowry, Jr. Jessica Moore Mallanda Merritt Ellen McAlister Jessica Celina Morris Lauren Kate O'Shea Ansly Elizabeth Paulk **Daniel Horne Petrey** David Ryan Roth Adrienne Leigh Smith Rachel Christina Young

Contact Information

Home | Prospective Students | Faculty & Academics | Faculty, Staff & Student Resources | Alumni & Giving Law Library | Career Services | Dean Rusk Center & International Programs | Visiting Our Campus | News Search | Site Index

The University of Georgia School of Law Athens, GA 30602 (706) 542-5191 Copyright 2008, University of Georgia School of Law. All rights reserved

Last updated Monday, April 14, 2008 2:17:04 PM