Best Brief, 2008 Intrastate Moot Court Competition

The Assembly for a More Just America v. Hernandez, Brief for Respondent (Best Brief, 2008 Intrastate Moot Court Competition). Embargoed until 2011.


The University of Georgia School of Law swept the 2008 Intrastate Moot Court Competition with two teams from UGA advancing to the final round of the tournament and capturing both the Best Brief and Best Oralist awards. UGA defeated teams from each of the state's law schools - Emory University, Georgia State University, Mercer University and John Marshall - in the annual contest.

The team of second-year law students Matthew A. Josephson, Titus T. Nichols and Robert D. Thomas won the championship trophy and received the Best Brief Award, while second-year students Kawania N. Brown, Audrey M. Seidle and David J. Younker finished the competition as finalists. Additionally, Younker earned the tournament's best oralist honor. Both UGA teams were coached by third-year students Catherine D. Runion and Rachel D. Horton.

"I couldn't be more proud of our students," Georgia Law Director of Advocacy Kellie Casey Monk said. "After the final round of the tournament, both teams from the School of Law were tied for first, and the judges had to use the brief scores to determine the top team. It was amazing to have an all-Georgia final and to capture all of the competition's awards."

The last time Georgia Law swept this intrastate contest was in 2006.