The University of Georgia School of Law, founded in 1859 by Joseph Henry Lumpkin, Thomas R.R. Cobb and William Hope Hull, has long been regarded as the leader in legal education for the state of Georgia. Ten of Georgia's governors and more than 30 of her U.S. senators and representatives have been alumni; currently, alumni lead all branches of Georgia's state government. In addition to being accomplished public servants, UGA graduates are also successful lawyers, business leaders and public interest advocates in 47 states, Puerto Rico and many foreign countries