Four faculty members named SEC Academic Leadership Development Program Fellows, Rodrigues included


Four faculty members named SEC Academic Leadership Development Program Fellows, Rodrigues included

Friday, September 14, 2018

Four UGA faculty members—Scott Ardoin, Thomas Mote, Amanda Murdie and Usha Rodrigues—have been selected as the university’s 2018-2019 SEC Academic Leadership Development Program Fellows.

The SEC Academic Leadership Development Program, which celebrated its 10th anniversary last year, focuses on developing academic leaders within the Southeastern Conference through workshops, networking and campus activities. Fellows will meet with campus leaders throughout the year as well as attend two SEC-wide workshops that help develop leadership skills and an awareness of challenges and opportunities in higher education.

The SEC ALDP fall workshop will be held at the University of Kentucky, and the spring workshop will be held at the University of Tennessee, Knoxville.

“The SEC ALDP Fellows will spend the year examining leadership, both at UGA and at our fellow SEC institutions,” said Meg Amstutz, associate provost for academic programs and UGA’s SEC ALDP liaison. “By networking with colleagues and discussing various approaches to issues, the Fellows will grow professionally and broaden their perspectives on higher education.”

Ardoin, head of the department of educational psychology in the College of Education and co-director of the UGA Center for Autism and Behavioral Education Research, currently serves as education division chair for the Association for Behavior Analysis International and president-elect of the Society for the Study of School Psychology. Ardoin researches applied behavior analysis within school settings and is currently employing eye-tracking technology to study students’ reading comprehension and test taking behavior.

Mote, the associate dean for the physical and mathematical sciences in the Franklin College of Arts and Sciences and a Distinguished Research Professor of Geography, previously served as head of the department of geography and founding director for the Atmospheric Sciences Program at UGA. Mote has worked on numerous projects with NASA, NOAA, the National Science Foundation and Department of Energy. He was named a Fellow of the American Meteorological Society in 2017 and a Fulbright scholar to Brazil in 2008.

Murdie, head of the department of international affairs in the School of Public and International Affairs, is editor-in-chief of International Studies Review and co-editor of the Studies in Security and International Affairs book series from the University of Georgia Press. Murdie researches international relations, specializing in international non-governmental organizations. She has worked with the military, policy and non-governmental organization communities and was the 2018 recipient of the Quincy Wright Distinguished Scholar Award from the International Studies Association.

Rodrigues, professor of law and university parliamentarian, was named holder of the M.E. Kilpatrick Chair of Corporate Finance and Securities Law in 2014. A member of the American Law Institute, she has held leadership roles in the American Association of Law Schools and the Law and Entrepreneurship Association. Rodrigues completed a three-year term as the associate dean for faculty development in the UGA School of Law in 2018 and currently leads courses in contracts, business ethics, business associations and securities regulation.

Since its inception in 2008, the SEC ALDP has graduated almost 400 participants across the 14 member universities. The SEC Academic Leadership Development Program is part of the SEC Academic Relations department, which serves as the primary mechanism through which the collaborative academic endeavors and achievements of SEC universities are promoted and advanced.

To learn more, visit http://t.uga.edu/109.