Expert trade law conference to be held at the UGA School of Law


Expert trade law conference to be held at the UGA School of Law

Thursday, August 31, 2017

Athens, Ga. – The Dean Rusk International Law Center and the Georgia Journal of International and Comparative Law will host a daylong conference titled “The Next Generation of International Trade Agreements” Sept. 18 in the Larry Walker Room of Dean Rusk Hall on the University of Georgia’s North Campus.

During the conference, which will mark the center’s 40th anniversary, expert academics, policymakers, corporate counsels and practitioners will explore the shifting trajectory of trade agreements. Spurring this change are events like Brexit, the status of the Trans-Pacific Partnership, calls to renegotiate the North American Free Trade Agreement, the acceleration of talks on the Regional Comprehensive Economic Partnership and China’s One Belt One Road initiative, according to Harlan G. Cohen, Wilner/UGA Foundation Professor in International Law, faculty co-director of the Dean Rusk International Law Center and conference adviser.

“We are honored to bring these experts to campus for a conference in commemoration of the 1977 dedication of the Dean Rusk International Law Center,” Cohen said. “Trade has been pushed back to the front of the global agenda, and with global politics in flux, we are at a unique moment for creative thinking and reform. We hope this conference will be an incubator for some of the best ideas for moving forward.”

Participants will include Cohen and four School of Law graduates: Ambassador C. Donald Johnson, former director of the Dean Rusk International Law Center; Terry Smith Labat, U.S. Department of Commerce senior policy adviser; Tina Termei, Amazon.com corporate counsel; and Audrey Winter, Office of the U.S. Trade Representative deputy assistant. Joining them will be: Padideh Ala’i, American University Washington College of Law professor; Kathleen Claussen, Miami University School of Law associate professor; Travis Cresswell, The Coca-Cola Company senior managing counsel; Antonia Eliason, University of Mississippi School of Law assistant professor; Robert Howse, New York University School of Law Nelson Professor of International Law; Nicolas Lamp, Queen’s University (Canada) assistant law professor; Timothy Meyer, Vanderbilt University Law School professor; Stewart Moran, Carter’s assistant general counsel; Ling-Ling Nie, Panasonic North America chief compliance officer and assistant general counsel; Gregory Shaffer, University of California, Irvine School of Law Chancellor’s Professor; Markus Wagner, University of Warwick School of Law (United Kingdom) associate professor; and Mark Wu, Harvard Law School assistant professor.

Cosponsoring the conference are law school student organizations the Business Law Society, the International Law Society and the Corsair Law Society as well as the UGA School of Public and International Affairs.

There is no cost for the conference, but registration is required online at www.law.uga.edu/gjicl2017.


Writer: Kate Doty, 706-542-9739, doty@uga.edu Contact: Britney Hardweare, 706-542-9697, hardweare@uga.edu

UGA School of Law Consistently regarded as one of the nation’s top law schools, the School of Law was established in 1859. Its accomplished faculty includes authors of some of the country’s leading legal scholarship. The School of Law is proud of its long-standing commitment to providing first-rate legal training for future leaders who will serve state and society in both the public and private sectors. The school offers three degrees – the Juris Doctor, the Master of Laws and the Master in the Study of Law – and is home to the Dean Rusk International Law Center. For more information, see www.law.uga.edu.