Candlelight memorial service will be held for faculty, staff, students; Wilner to be remembered


Contact: Alan Campbell, 706/542-8220, dralan@uga.edu

Athens, Ga. - Nineteen University of Georgia faculty, staff and students who died since last May will be honored at the university's annual candlelight memorial service May 3 at 7 p.m. on the steps of the Chapel.

UGA President Michael F. Adams will lead the service, called "Georgia Remembers . . . a Candlelight Memorial." Names of each of the seven students and 12 faculty and staff members will be read aloud, followed by a toll of the Chapel bell and the lighting of a candle.

Names will be read by Jeffrey Dorfman, chair of the executive committee of University Council; Jerry Daniel, president of the Staff Council; and Mallory Davis, president of the Student Government Association.

Members of the university's Arch Society will light candles as each name is read aloud. Adam Daniels, campus minister for the Georgia Christian Student Center, will deliver an opening and closing prayer. At the conclusion of the ceremony, the flames from the Arch Society's members' candles will be passed to attendees so they can light their own candles of remembrance.

Faculty and staff whose names will be read along with the positions they held are: Christopher S. Allen, an associate professor in the School of Public and International Affairs; Sandra Bonds, a building services worker in Physical Plant; Therese Buskas, a research professional in the Complex Carbohydrate Research Center; Liana Embovica, an academic professional in the Hugh Hodgson School of Music; James H. Foster, a monitor in Parking Services; Marcie N. Jones, a public service associate in the College of Agricultural and Environmental Sciences; Bruce Klopfenstein, a professor in the Grady College of Journalism and Mass Communication; Richard Loring Marsh, a professor in the psychology department; William G. Pannell, an equipment mechanic at the University Golf Course; Sheron Nordlund, an administrative associate for the Pesticide and Hazardous Waste Lab; Thelma Richardson, an IT specialist in the Odum School of Ecology; and Gabriel Wilner, an associate dean in the School of Law.

Students whose names will be read along with their hometowns and the areas of study they were pursuing are: James David Eunice, Valdosta, incoming freshman;Lynwoodt Benard Jenkins, Stone Mountain, master of fine arts degree in theatre; Eddie Hoon Ko, Buford, sports management; Kevin Joe Mink, Winterville, master of arts degree in teaching; Joshua Mark Robertson, Peachtree City, international affairs; Michael Stuart Tench, Clarkesville, history; and Justin L. Elliott, Ellijay, marketing.