UGA School of Law staff member honored with service award


Friday, January 5, 2007

WRITER: Nikki Girard, 706/542-5172, lawprstu@uga.edu C ONTACT: Cindy Wentworth, 706/542-5173, cwent@uga.edu Robin Jennings, 706/542-6513, rjenning@uga.edu

UGA School of Law staff member honored with service award

ATHENS, Ga. - The University of Georgia School of Law Staff Council presented Cindy F. Wentworth with the 2006 Emma P. Terrell Employee of the Year Award in December. This annual award recognizes and rewards employees for their service to the law school.

Robin Jennings, the award's 2005 winner, presented Wentworth with the honor, citing her tireless work ethic to serve the law school on a daily basis as one of many reasons she won the award. Wentworth has worked as an administrative associate at the law school for more than five years.

One nomination for Wentworth stated, "No matter how busy she is, she is always willing to help when assistance is needed. She shows total dedication to her work and remains professional while keeping her wonderful sense of humor. The law school is fortunate to have her as a part of our community."

An Oglethorpe County native, Wentworth has been serving the legal community in Athens since 1982. "It was a great honor for me to receive the award," she said. "I enjoy my work at the law school and really appreciate the nominations from the faculty and staff members I work with."

Wentworth said she was surprised to receive the Terrell award because the law school staff council had managed to keep it a secret from her, although she serves as the committee's chair.

The award, formerly known as the Employee Distinguished Service Award, was renamed in February 2005 in memory of the late Emma P. Terrell, a long-time employee remembered for her dedication to and enthusiasm for the law school.

The Law School Staff Council presents this award annually to recognize staff members who demonstrate an outstanding work ethic, commitment to service and exceptional job performance in addition to the cooperation necessary to increase the quality of education and service provided by the law school. Recipients receive a $500 monetary award and a framed certificate.